What is the United Way?

United Way is a local nonprofit organization that engages community members in identifying local resources to address the greatest needs in Freeborn County.

United Way of Freeborn County is focused on the areas of Education, Income and Health.

Our mission is uniting people and resources to improve lives. United Way of Freeborn County collaborates to connect people, resources and ideas to create a thriving community characterized by measurable and long-lasting improvements in education, income and health.

We have several commitees formed of community members who volunteer their time to make sure United Way is functioning at its best; to meet the needs of Freeborn County residents. A special Allocations Commitee ensures that donations are spent wisely and where they are needed most.

Only 2% of funds collected go outside of Freeborn County; 1% is slated for United Way of America Membership and 1% is designated by the donors for United Ways in other counties.

The United Way of Freeborn County values, champions, and embraces diversity in all aspects of our activities. UWFC respects others without regard to race, religion, color, sex, age, handicap, national origin or ancestry.

Please read for more information regarding United Way operations at a worldwide level (this statement was released following e-mails that were sent out with a great deal of misinformation): Email Claims 2012 (2) pdf

bl_circleicon_membership2015_rgb (4)

Important Documents:

Annual Report 2014

2014 Financial Statements     2014 990     2014 990, Schedule O

501 (c) (3)     Bylaws    Code of Ethics   Whistleblower Policy


Chair: Dr. Mike Funk

Vice Chair: Stuart Ness

Treasurer: Justin Oman

Secretary: Jenine Koziolek

Ex-Officio: Melissa Barr


Lonny Hagen, Albert Lea Select Foods

Justin Oman, Security Bank MN

Dr. Mike Funk, Albert Lea School District

Tony Pope, Cargill

Jenine Koziolek, Fountain Centers

Mark Heinemann, Farmer’s State Bank

Mary Johnson, US Bank

Deb Kolling, Freeborn Mower Cooperative Services

Stuart Ness, Farmer/Mrs. Gerry’s

Virginia Herrera, ALSD #241 Success Coach

Simon Dhol, Southern Minnesota Sudanese Community

Melissa Barr, Mayo Clinic Health System

Agency Representatives:

Jo Lowe, The Arc of Freeborn County

Andrea Mauer, Crime Victims Crisis Center